End of the Summer

I am two weeks away from going back to school and 4 weeks away from a hectic lifestyle in which I work 30-35 hours a week and go to school full-time. Whilst dabbling in raw food this summer I have discovered a few things.

  • I don’t really like raw grains so I am going to cut them out.
  • I like strawberries! I never knew.
  • Simple is better. No complex stuff for me. I don’t have the time or the money.

I thought that switching over to raw, I would crave pasta. Turns out my cravings for sandwiches were a lot stronger, as well as my cravings for parfait/cereal… or something with a soft texture filled with something with a crunchy texture. Haha, dunno what it is about texture, but it’s almost more important to me than taste.

A couple months ago, I made flax seed oatmeal! I left the flaxseeds to soak for about 6 hours. I don’t remember, but I don’t think they were supposed to soak that long, haha. But they were soft and gooey and they were covered in some sort of slime (sounds appetizing, I know). I had no time, so I threw bananas and blueberries marinated in Bragg’s apple cider. I mashed the bananas in it and had a oatmeal-like substance. It was quite good and VERY filling.

Flaxseed, Banana, Blueberries, Yum!

I’m thinking I’m going to create menus each week with similar ingredients so that I don’t waste food and I don’t spend needless money. I am on a tight budget this year. So I guess if this blog ever gets discovered, it could be a headway for students trying to live raw. I’ll post my mistakes and things I find that work for me and my lifestyle.

Right now I am working on creating a steady, rotating grocery list. I found that snack-wise, I love pre-made granola bars. Granola bars are a student’s best friend. But I don’t know if any of the health food stores in Gainesville will sell a plethora of them. Guess I’ll just have to find out.

I also love to eat/want to eat more of: avocados, mandarin oranges, strawberries, apple slices dipped in raw almond butter, Larabars, and marinated-veggie-recipes.

It’s a work in progress!

Leave a comment

Filed under banana, blueberry, flaxseed, goals

Leave a comment