Discoveries and Failures

Hah, what an overly epic title. Only because it’s been so long since I’ve posted and I’ve documented quite a few of both discoveries and failures. Work and school has been taking up all of my time. Oh, and I’m trying to have a social life this year. =p

So the first real recipe I attempted in Gainesville were chocolate donut holes made with flax, cacao, and agave. I got the recipe somewhere online.

Cacao + Flax + Agave = xP

They came out okay, but I thought the texture was so unlike a real donut. They were very thick and packed, not light and fluffy. The taste was very flax-ey, not the best taste in the world. My boyfriend suggested making them with whole flax seeds instead, so I soaked the flax seeds. I didn’t let them dry long enough and they didn’t blend in the processor. So I changed direction and made flax sweet bread to put almond butter and bananas into for breakfast. Result (it was pretty good):

with cinnamon sprinkled on top =)

[Sadly, I later found out with another recipe that my cheap dehydrator that I got at Goodwill is flying to temperatures between 140 degrees and 180 degrees! Definitely cutting down on the dehydrated recipes. =( ]

Continuing on my donut hole journey, I attempted the coconut donut holes dusted with sifted cacao from Sarma Mengailis’s book. I didn’t put the whole recipe in there, just half of all the ingredients so my food processor decided to push it all up on the sides and stop blending it. So, brilliant me, I added a little water to get it to blend again and added too much water…..

almost like cake icing...

And it became paste instead of donut holes. Which I ate off a spoon and it was still freakin delicious.

And I miss pasta so much. I don’t have a spiralizer so I attempted zucchini pasta with a knife and a vegetable peeler.

delicious, but not quite as filling as SAD pasta

I can’t remember exactly, but I think the dressing was some combo of olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic sun-dried tomato pesto stuff.

I had smoothies every morning for breakfast for a while. I like the banana avocado combo. I also like banana apple and spinach. It’s the best applesauce I’ve ever tasted. And anything with cacao!! I’m sorry, but the raw foodists who renounce everything except pure fruits and vegetables (and only certain kinds!) … I can’t do that. I need to have some food connection to everyone else around me. If I couldn’t share food with my friends, a little part of me would die inside. Plus I love chocolate! If i didn’t have cacoa powder, I would snarf down Reese’s every time I saw it in the grocery store.

And speaking of chocolate…

8)

This has been my latest obsession. Sliced bananas and strawberries in a cashew milk/cacao/honey/agave mixture. SO GOODDD!!! I also just bought chia seeds and I make the same thing, but in a chia oatmeal version. Delicious!!

In other news, I’m going to my first Gator football game tomorrow! So excited! I will post pictures as soon as I can. Until then!

Leave a comment

Filed under banana, cacao, chocolate, coconut, flaxseed, strawberries

Leave a Reply

